Breaking News

Month, Day Year, HH:MM:SS

Mumbai Indians grab WPL championship by beating Delhi Capitals

Mumbai Indians grab WPL championship by beating Delhi Capitals in a close tussle

The Mumbai Indians are the first champions of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) after Nat Sciver-Brunt’s unbeaten 60 secured their seven-wicket win over Delhi Capitals in Sunday’s final at Wankhede Stadium.

In a nervy title fight between the top two teams in the competition, it was the experience of Nat Sciver-Brunt that helped Mumbai cross the finish line. The all-around star who smashed her Eliminator Blitz with a measured 60* hit of 55 balls followed. Sciver-Brunt’s half-century and crucial 72-run partnership with Harmanpreet Kaur, 37, came after a stellar performance in bowling. Particularly from Hayley Matthews and Melie Kerr, that stopped the Delhi Capitals to a modest total of 131.

Earlier in the day, Delhi Capitals captain Meg Lanning won the draw, choosing to bat first. Issy Wong continued her tournament dream by sending off Shafali Verma, Alice Capey, and Jemimah Rodrigues on the power play. DC couldn’t recover from

Custom Image
the onset of the Terror as they stumbled to 79-9.

Meg Lanning looked good despite falling wickets but was ruled out for a 35-to-29 smash after a run following a mix-up with fellow Australian Jeff Jonassen. DC’s 11th pair of wickets stunned the world with an impressive 52-run partnership to help the Capitals put in 131 runs. Shikha Pandey scored 27 balls from 17 while Radha Yadav hit 27 of 12 balls.

Hayley Matthews was the first pick of the Mumbai bowlers, with three wickets to her credit and just five runs in four overs. The Mumbai Indians chase got off to a bad start as openers Yastika Bhatia and Matthews were eliminated in the first half. As a result, DC’s bowling unit slowed MI’s batting average as the pressure mounted on Nat Sciver Brunt and Harmanpreet Kaur.

The duo ensured MI suffered no further setbacks in the pursuit as they cemented the innings with a 72-run partnership. However, Harmanpreet again fell victim to a breakaway in a big match after hitting 37 runs from 39 balls to level the game again.

Short scores: Delhi Capitals women 131/9 in 20 overs (Meg Lanning 35, Radha Yadav 27*; Hayley Matthews 3-5, Issy Wong 3-42, Melie Kerr 2-18) lost the WPL final against Mumbai Indians women 134/3 in 19.3 Overs (Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*, Harmanpreet Kaur 37; Radha Yadav 1-24) through seven wickets.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

February 2024