Cricket T20 World Cup

Interesting facts about seven venues of the T20 World cup matches in Australia

Interesting facts about seven venues of the T20 World cup matches in Australia

Australia is presently hosting the ICC T20 World Cup. In the Super 12 phase, eight clubs are now battling for his four vacant berths. On October 22, the Super 12 phase of the competition will get underway, featuring a rematch of the 2021 T20 World Cup final between hosts Australia and cross-Tasmanian rivals New Zealand. For nearly a month, matches will be played in seven locations across seven Australian cities (Melbourne, Adelaide, Sydney, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, and Perth), attracting spectators from all over the world.

Let us unfold the complete journey of these cricket match venues in detail.

Melbourne Cricket Ground

The storied Melbourne Cricket Ground, located in Australia’s sporting capital and perhaps one of the best sports venues in the world, is steeped in history and tradition. Since its construction in 1853, MSG has played host to some of the most significant occasions in Australian history, starting with Test cricket in 1877 and One-Day International Cricket in 1971. One of this year’s most important matchups will take place during the World Cup.

Some of the well-known matches at the illustrious MCG include the November 13th final, the Super 12 encounter between India and Pakistan, and the Super 12 opener between Australia and New Zealand.

Adelaide Oval

Like the fabled MSG, the Adelaide Oval is situated in the City of Churches and is rich in legacy and history. This location has hosted some of the biggest record-breaking games and was the first to host his Ashes Day-night test in 2017. Seven of his 45 games in the 2018 T20 World Cup, including his second semi-final on November 10, will be played at the 53,500-seat Adelaide Oval.

Sydney Cricket Ground

One of the world’s most attractive and famous cricket venues, the historic Sydney Cricket Ground has hosted matches for over 150 years. Known for hosting the annual New Year’s Test and home to the NSW Blues and Sydney Sixers, SCG is a treasure trove of Australian history.

Seating 48,600, the Sydney Cricket Ground is an architectural marvel and will host seven matches of this year’s T20 World Cup, including the first semi-final on 9 November.

The Gabba

The entertainment capital of sunny Queensland. Traditionally, the first test of the Australian summer is at Gabba, Brisbane. With a capacity of 42,000 people, this beautiful venue has historically seen legendary cricket matches in a variety of formats. Known for realistic, tough, and resilient pitching, the Gabba is expected to showcase exciting cricket at his T20 World Cup this year.

This venue is hosting 4of 45 matches during this world cup.

Kardinia Park

One of Victoria’s most impressive stadiums, the sparkling Kardinia Park in Victoria’s second-largest city Geelong, will host T20 World Cup matches for the first time. The 30,000-seat stadium has recently become one of Australia’s premier cricket venues.

Cardinia Park is home to the Geelong Cats of the Australian Football League and was built in 1941.

Big Bash League, International T20 Matches, Super Rugby, and Football Friendly have been held in the past.

Perth Stadium

An iconic and state-of-the-art venue in Western Australia, the new Perth Stadium opened in 2018 and hosted the famous India-Australia Test as the first match of the year. The venue has hosted some top-level matches since England v Afghanistan on day one of the Super 12. This 60,000-seat multi-purpose stadium at a world-class facility will host a total of five games in his T20 World Cup this time around.

This is thethird-largest stadium in Australia.

Bellerive Oval

His beautiful Bellerive Oval on the east bank of the Derwent will host his T20 World Cup matches for the first time. The 4,444-seat, 20,000-seat stadium has undergone considerable modernization in recent years, and in 2015 the venue opened for the first time the Ricky Ponting Grandstand during the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

About Author