Athletics icon PT Usha set to become first woman president of IOA

Athletics icon PT Usha set to become first woman president of IOA

Legendary sprinter and the 58-year-old multiple Asian gold medalist, PT Usha, is set to become the first woman president of the IOA (Indian Olympic Association). Before her the only Indian to be seated in such a position was Maharaja Yadavindra Singh.

Mrs. PT Usha will be filling her nomination for the top post in the IOA based on the merits list of the eight SOM (Sportspersons of the Outstanding Merit) which means the Mary Kom led selection committee (Athlete Commission of IOA).

Umesh Sinha who is the returning officer at the IOA didn’t receive any nominations except for some office bearers on Sunday, probably which could have made Mrs. PT Usha’s name is an ideal one for the role.

On the occasion of being nominated, the current law minister Kiren Rijiju from Bharatiya Janata Party passed his congratulations for the former player saying,

“Congratulations to legendary Golden Girl, Smt. P T Usha on being elected as the President of Indian Olympic Association. I also congratulate all the sporting heroes of our country on becoming the office bearers of the prestigious IOA! Nation is proud of them!”

Mrs. PT Usha is also the nominated member of the Rajya Sabha by the ruling party BJP.

Mrs. Usha retired in the year 2000 and was known as “Payyoli Express”. She gave her precious 2-decades of service to the country achieving:

● 11 Asian Games Medals including 4 gold in a single edition play
● 23 Medals, including 14 gold at the Asian Championships between 1983 to 1998

From the list of people congratulating the player had the name of our honorable Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Talking about other top post at the IOA includes:

● Ajay Patel to be elected as the Senior Vice President
● Indian Weightlifting Federation, Sahdev Yadav, to be named as the new treasurer
● AIFF or All India Football Federation’s president Kalyan Chaubey being selected as the ale joint secretary, however the quest for the female joint secretary post is taking place and the people those have filed their nominations for this post are Shalini Thakur Chawla, Alaknanda Ashok and Suman Kaushik.

Read Also: MS Dhoni parties with Hardik Pandya, Badshah in Dubai video Goes Viral

About Author