Breaking News

Month, Day Year, HH:MM:SS

5 IPL Franchisees

Adani purchases Ahmedabad WIPL Franchise with the highest bid of Rs. 1,289 Crore

BCCI has established the owners with locations of the 5 franchises for the 2023 Women’s Premier League- WIPL. This is the inaugural edition of India’s T20 women’s league, formerly known as the Women’s IPL.

The five cities that Teams to be welcomed are Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow. Adani Group bought the Ahmedabad franchise for Rs 1,289 crore, the highest bid, while India won Sports, part of Reliance Group, which owns the Mumbai owns Indians, has ownership rights to Mumbai. Similarly, Royal Challengers Sports and JSW, owners of the IPL Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals franchises, have won bids for Bengaluru and Delhi, respectively. Capri Global spent Rs 7.57 million to secure a franchise in Lucknow. Also Read: Indore crowd tease Shubman Gill by calling Sara’s name during IND-NZ 3rd ODI, video goes viral

Taking to Twitter, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah wrote: “Today is a historic day in cricket as the bid for the inaugural

Custom Image
WPL teams broke records for the inaugural men’s IPL in 2008. Congratulations to the winners who scored Rs. 46669.99 cr. in total bid.”

This results the start of a revolution in women’s cricket and covers the way for a transformative journey not just for our women cricketers but for the entire sporting fraternity. The WPL would bring about the necessary reforms in women’s cricket and would ensure a comprehensive ecosystem that benefits everyone involved. “The BCCI has named the league Women’s Premier League (WPL). Let the ride begin.” In early January, it was confirmed that Viacom18 had acquired the rights to media for WPL and signed a five-year deal worth around £95.7 million or £700,000 per game.

The WPL changes the Women’s T20 Challenge as India’s premier women’s T20 competition. The five-team tournament is scheduled to take place in early March and will consist of 22 games.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

May 2024